Most of the time, I suppress the wind chimes and composting side of myself because I live in the San Fernando Valley and that sort of thing is somewhat frowned upon here. But when I visit my sister, brother-in-law, and 6 year old nephew in Oregon, the wind chimes and composting side of me can breathe freely. I just got back from a short visit. And as always, we went to places so pristine and green, it was almost like we were the first ones to arrive. We picnicked and skipped stones into the Willamette River at the Dorris Ranch. We soaked for an hour in the Belknap Hotsprings and then my nephew led us through the woods to a secret. freaking. garden. where we played hide and seek. We played video games in a kick-ass arcade and drank excellent local beer. On the morning I had to leave, my nephew gave me a makeover. He sprayed pink streaks in my hair, applied blue eyeshadow, lipgloss, painted my nails two different colors, then adorned me with multiple rainbow loom bracelets and rings, and (blessedly) a peacock mask. IMG_2390 IMG_2391 IMG_2395 IMG_2393 IMG_2401IMG_2396 IMG_2402 IMG_2422  

